Picture
Ok, so here it goes; time to be even more vulnerable. 

I came across Jen Hatmaker through the (in)courage site a few months ago while I was completely bored out of my mind at work.  Her book, 7, was being highlighted as their book club book.  I didn't get a chance to read it, but I followed the discussions.  "7 is the true story of how Jen (along with her husband and her children to  varying degrees) took seven months, identified seven areas of excess, and made seven simple choices to fight back against the modern-day diseases of greed, materialism, and overindulgence. In the spirit of a fast, they pursued a deeply  reduced life in order to find a greatly increased God."  I'm hoping to be able to read it in depth myself, but not till after I've read Make Over. 

Make Over
is a Bible study about balancing the lives we lead.  We, women, have been called to play a variety of roles in and out of the household and sometimes those roles can bring us down.  As you may have seen with some of my previous posts about the kids, this book could not have come at a better time.  I am in desperate need of a "make over." 

While reading the introduction, my heart and my lips said, "Thank you, Lord!"  My heart has been heavy concerning my children and the craziness of life that seeking God through this study will help rejuvenate me only the way He so desires.  The nice thing about her book is that she is so realistic.  This study is a 6-week study broken into short, two to five, maybe six page chapters for each day.  And her week is 5 days; totally doable.  So it's 30 days of reading, if you're doing the math.  30 days to get a new, refreshed perspective on the craziness we call life.  30 days to "make over" you. 

At the beginning I said I was going to be more vulnerable, so here it is:  For each lesson/day, there are questions, some simple and basic and some very personal.  I'm going to spend the next 30 days going through this study with you.  I'll post the questions, the verses, and my vulerable answers.  As I'm writing, my head it saying, "Shoot, spilling my guts is easy, but doing something, especially blogging for 30 days...that's a feat in itself.  You can barely blog 2 days in a row.  What makes you think you can do 30?!" Well ladies, I'm squashing that voice in my head today.  I know that voice is the enemy not wanting me to do something that will help me grow spiritually.  So your prayers for this journey of rejuvenation and vulneralbility will be much appreciated. 

Thanks for stopping by,




Leave a Reply.