So long 2012 and hello 2013!  There's usually a sense of rejuvenation and excitement when a new year begins.  My question is why does it take a year to have a "clean slate" when we get one every day when we wake up?  What makes the calendar rolling over so special? 

Well, for me, having a sense of truly starting over is what my heart needed.  It's what my inner me has been desiring for so long.  To start fresh.  To be a brand new me.  These last few months have given me an little glimpse of who I am; not who I thought I was supposed to be.  I know that finding the real me is going to take some time.  The real me shows her beautiful face in certain scenarios; usually over a dinner or drinks.  Definitely over drinks.  I'm not on my guard, worrying about what other people will think about me or what comes out of my mouth.  I am FREE. To. BE. ME!

My dear, patient husband is such an encourager in this situation.  He wants me to be the ME that I am around him around others.  I know my words are going around in circles, but that's what's circling in my head.  He wants everyone to experience ME.  He's amazing and he's mine. =)

So with a new year, new goals (I don't want to say resolutions because, well, I just don't.), and a new perspective on things, I look forward to see what 2013 will bring me and my family.

Before I divulge my new goals for this year, I must confess my goals from last year.  I did succeed in most, but definitely have areas of opportunity for others. 

10 Goals for 2012 (just to get me started):
  1. Complete Rockin' Body and one other Beachbody program. I completed Rockin' Body and attempted Brazilian Butt Lift. 
  2. Read 6 fiction and 6 non-fiction books. Suggestions welcome. I read 2 non-fiction books and 15+ fiction books.  I'll take it.  Getting a Kindle for my Mother's Day gift really helped me crank out my reading goals.
  3. Learn ASL. I learned a few new signs, but didn't really dive in deep.  I can't take classes at the college since they conflict with my current schedule.
  4. Save up $2225.00 for half of Dave Ramsey's Counselor Training - Didn't save a dime for it. :(  I'm going to have to take this off my list.  I'm thinking this will be a good 5 year goal.
  5. Blog at least once a week. This DEFINITELY didn't happen.  I didn't make blogging/journaling a priority this past year.  I did fill up a couple of hand-written journals, but that's about it.  Blogging isn't really one of my strengths.  I do enjoy writing, but to commit to once a week is a stretch.  
  6. Learn how to plan freezer meals. Well, I must have thought I would get a stand-alone freezer this past year.  So didn't even attempt any freezer meals.  
  7. De-clutter. I did de-clutter.  I got rid of things without attempt to put them up for sale.  I donated a lot of stuff and just filled up the trash.  I have a long way to go.  One book that I picked up is about learning to live life simply.
  8. Start and finish a craft.  I did!  I finished several.  Thanks to Pinterest and all the awesome ideas out there, I was able to make some cute things for our house and gifts. 
  9. Join a woman's group. This didn't happen either.  I'm still working on the girlfriend factor.  It's an area that I struggle with.  More to come later.
  10. Getting in bed by 10:30pm Hah!  Who was I kidding?!  I enjoyed my time after that. 
**Now there was another goal that was made that involved numbers.  The goal was 100, but 140 was obtained!!**

So my goals for 2013 are going to be a little bit more realistic...so to speak.
  1. 156 (Bobbie Jo, thanks for the number!)
  2. Baby steps to better health. We're working on eliminating a majority of the processed foods in our house and working on our general well-being.
  3. De-clutter some more. 
  4. Spend more meaningful time with my family.  Last year I was gone, in a hotel for work for 2 1/2 months.  That's a long time for a mama.
  5. Focus on what God has planned for me.  I do a lot of planning.  I mean, A LOT of planning.  That just kind of leaves me as a hot mess.  At the GLS one year, one of the speakers said somthing to the effect of, "If you can figure it out yourself, you're insulting God." 
  6. Work on friendships.  This is something I struggle with. I think this will be a topic of discussion for me this year.
  7. Plan a woman's study group.  I'm saying plan, because seeing it come to play is not something I can foresee at the moment.
That's all I have so far.  I just want to be a better me for my family.  If I'm feeling good, I will be able to serve my family better.

Happy New Year!



Leave a Reply.